Scope of the Institute
Project Content
Project Faculty and Staff
Individual Projects
Stipends and Housing
How to Apply
Application Instructions (PDF)

Please see the eligibility criteria for participation in NEH Seminars and Institutes for College and University Teachers.

While scholars specializing in American Studies, history, art history, literature, and anthropology might find the institute especially attractive, we encourage applicants from any field who are interested in material culture, regardless of their disciplinary, regional, or chronological interests. Participants need not have extensive prior knowledge of material or have previously incorporated the study of material culture into any of their courses or research. However, your application essay should identify concrete ways in which four weeks of concentration on the topic will enhance your teaching and/or research. The ideal institute participant will bring to the group a fresh understanding of the relevance of the topic to their teaching and research.


Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this program do not necessarily reflect those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Back to top